Stages of malignant pleural mesothelioma

Stages of malignant pleural mesothelioma
Stages of malignant pleural mesothelioma

Stages of malignant pleural mesothelioma. The stage indicates the degree of progression of the disease and is an important judgment material for making a treatment policy. The stage of malignant pleural mesothelioma is roughly divided into four stages, from stage I to stage IV, depending on the spread of cancer and the status of metastasis to adjacent organs and lymph nodes. Stage I is limited to one side of the pleura. In stage II, cancer has spread to adjacent lungs and diaphragm, in stage III, invaded the chest wall, pericardium, and lymph nodes, in stage IV, chest wall, mediastinum, sub diaphragm, etc. It is in a spreading state. Unlike lung cancer, metastasis to distant organs is rare.

Examination and diagnosis of malignant pleural mesothelioma

What inspection is necessary?
In addition to interviews, examinations, and imaging tests, the diagnosis is confirmed by biopsy pathological examination. First of all, check your occupational history, residence history, family history, etc. to see if you may have been exposed to asbestos dust. In addition, imaging tests such as chest X-rays and CT scans will look for cancerous findings. In many cases of malignant pleural mesothelioma, the accumulation of pleural effusion is the trigger for diagnosis. If you have pleural effusion, check the state of the cells in the pleural effusion for reference. Eventually, a part of the suspicious tissue is collected by “biopsy”, and the stage and diagnosis are confirmed after detailed examination by histopathological examination.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.